ICDL – The Digital Skills Standard

The ICDL is the international standard for developing your digital skills in the workplace. It’s a voluntary and additional qualification, next to your school classes. 

The ICDL (International Certification for Digital Literacy) is a certificate of basic IT knowledge recognised in over 100 countries. In Germany alone, there are over 1,300 ICDL test centres. The contents of the seven ICDL modules are laid down in the ICDL syllabus. The ICDL syllabus is regularly updated.

Further information can be found at: www.icdl.de  or www.dlgi.de

The BBS Walsrode is a certified ICDL examination centre.

If you are interested in obtaining an ICDL certificate and taking exams at this school, please note the following:

  • The fees are for the exam only and there are no additional costs.
  • If you have any further questions, please contact one of the ICDL test centre managers:
  • M1 Fundamentals of Information Technology
  • M2 Computer use and file management (MS Windows)
  • M3 Word Processing (MS Word)
  • M4 Spreadsheet (MS Excel)
  • M5 Database (MS Access)
  • M6 Presentation (MS Powerpoint)
  • M7 Information and communication (MS Internet Explorer, Outlook or Mozilla Firefox, Thunderbird)
  • 4 passed modules = ICDL Workforce Base
  • 7 passed modules = ICDL Workforce
  • A pass mark of 75% is required.